Library

Library is the area where you can create, save and store your Data Definitions. Click the button with the same name in the main header to open it.

 Remember: if you want to work on the same Data Definition in different analyses, you have to create it right here. 



Contents


SelfBi Desktop and Online

The Library is divided into 3 sections:

All: where you can find:

  • the New Data Definition button, and
  • the Data Definitions previously saved. For each one you can see its title and 3 icons:

    : click it to see the Data Results: if you need, you can change the data selection of the Data Definition (there are different ways to do it, depending on the source),
    : click to delete the Data Definition,
    : click to mark the Data Definition as Favourite.

Favourites: it displays all the Data Definitions you marked with  .

Recents: it displays the last Data Definitions you have worked on.

In every section:

  • you can find the Advanced filter bar: it allows you to quickly find the Data Definition you are looking for, by inserting the title (or part of it) of that Data Definition.
  • if you click on a saved Data Definition, the Details panel appears on the right: here you can find more information about your analysis (full title, description, last opening and editing date and hour) and you can edit them by clicking on  .
  • if you double click on a saved Data Definition, you see the Data Results and you can change the data selection of the Data Definition.

To close the Data Definitions Library, click on   in the Library tab at the top of the window.

Watch the video

The Library overview

Create a new Data Definition in the Library


When you click on New Data Definition, you have to choose a sourceWhen you do so, a window opens showing your connection results. 

If you want to edit these results:

On the right side, you can find the panel Refine Data.

If you want to change the name or the description of your Data Definition, click on   beside the title at the top of the window.

When you finish all the adjustments, click on  Save Data Definition. Now that your Data Definition is saved, can find it in the Library and use it in any analysis you want.


Use a saved Data Definition


After the creation of a New Analysis, in the box Choose the source type click on Library to connect one of your saved Data Definitions, then search for it by typing its name.

Otherwise, if you’re in Edit and you want to add a saved Data Definition to the current analysis, click on Add button on Data panel in current analysis and connect it.

To have more specific information about the way to connect a Data Definition saved in the Library, go to load or connect your data.


SelfBi Server


Library is the area where you can create, save, store and share your Data Definitions. Click the button with the same name in the main header to open it.
 Remember: if you want to work on the same Data Definition in different analyses, you have to create it right here. 


The Library is divided into 3 sections:

All: where you can find:

  • the New Data Definition button, and
  • the Data Definitions previously saved. For each one you can see its title and 4 icons:
     : click it to see the Data Results: if you need, you can change the data selection of the Data Definition (there are different ways to do it, depending on the source),
    : click to delete the Data Definition,
    : click to mark the Data Definition as “Favourite”.
    : click to share the Data Definition with other users

Favourites: it displays all the Data Definitions you marked with   .

Recents: it displays the last Data Definitions you have worked on.

In every section:

  • you can find the Advanced filter bar: it allows you to quickly find the Data Definition you are looking for, by inserting the title (or part of it) of that Data Definition.
  • if you click on a saved Data Definition, the Details appears on the right: here you can find more information about your analysis (full title, description, last opening and editing date and hour) and you can edit them by clicking on   .
  • if you double click on a saved Data Definition, you see the Data Results and you can change the data selection of the Data Definition.

To close the Data Definitions Library, click on    in the Library tab at the top of the window.




Create a new Data Definition in the Library


You have to load or connect your data from a sourceWhen you do so, a window opens showing your connection results. 

If you want to edit these results:

On the right side, you can find the panel Refine Data.

If you want to change the name or the description of your Data Definition, click on    beside the title at the top of the window.

When you finish all the adjustments, click on   Save Data Definition. Now that your Data Definition is saved, can find it in the Library and use it in any analysis you want.


Use a saved Data Definition


After the creation of a New Analysisin the box Choose the source type click on Library to connect one of your saved Data Definitions, then search for it by typing its name.

Otherwise, if you’re in Edit mode and you want to add a saved Data Definition to the current analysis, click on Add button on Data panel in current analysis and connect it.

To have more specific information about the way to connect a Data Definition saved in the Library, go to load or connect your data.


Share a Data Definition


SelfBi makes it possible to share your Data Definition with other users: this allows more people to connect and modify the same Data Definition and always use the same version of it.

It's also possible to assign different permissions to each Data Definition so that each user is allowed (or not) to edit, play, and manage it.

A Data Definition can be:



: created by you and shared with one or more users

: created by you but not shared yet

watermark  : created by another user and shared with you

To share a Data Definition, click  and the window Share [NameofDataDefinition] with... opens.
Search in the left box the Usernames who you want to share the analysis with. Then, just using the drag and drop, add the Usernames in the upper right or bottom right box. Otherwise, you can use the arrows to insert ( ) or delete ( ) a Username.

The 2 boxes in the right show the permissions of all the Users whom the analysis is shared with. You can choose between the following sharing modalities:

  1. Standard sharing: the user can only use the Data Definition created by the sharing user, without the possibility of modifying it. This means he won't be able to delete and edit the shared Data Definition.
  2. Full sharing: more than using the Data Definition, the user is allowed to modify and delete the Data Definition.





When you have decided who can use your analysis and how, click Confirm (or Cancel everything).