5. Play

If you move to Play, this means you are ready to show the analysis you have prepared in Edit. In fact Play is where you let your data speak and enjoy your analysis.

No matter if you are working on SelfBi Server, Online, Personal or Desktop: this step never changes.

 Designed to be easy: you can move from Edit to Play (and vice versa) whenever you want.



Contents


Changes in Edit & Play
If you make any changes in Edit without saving, you can save these changes directly in Play: to do that, click  . Otherwise, you can go back to the last saved version by clicking  . A message pops up to warn you that you are going to lose unsaved changes. Click Continue without saving to confirm.

If you have made any changes in Edit and you have saved them, you can still reach the last version of the Analysis you had previously seen in Play.
In this case, as you go to Play, you are asked if you want to synchronize the view in Play with the version modified in Edit. You have two possibilities:

  • if you click Yes, the last version of the analysis you saw in Play will be lost, and you will be displayed the newly modified analysis.
  • if you click No, you will see the last version of the analysis you saw in Play. Instead, if you want to see the modified analysis, click  .   


Watch the video

The Play overview

5.1 Widgets


In Play you can’t add new widgets or modify the data: if you want to do so, go back to Edit.

The changes you can make on widgets are the following ones:

  • by clicking on   on the top right, SelfBi assigns new colours to your charts randomly. The colours are assigned according to the last combination of measure and dimension (for example, if there are one measure and two dimensions, the colours are assigned according to the measure and the second dimension).
     Remember: only identical combinations have the same colours.
  • you can decide the data order in the table: by clicking on the title of a column, you can arrange the data of that column data in increasing or decreasing order. You can also move the columns to the left or to the right by drag-and-dropping them.

Filters have effect on the widgets only if in Edit the option Can accept Filters? is ticked (you can find this option in the Properties  panel of the selected widget).

If you have inserted a cartesian chart containing a lot of data, you can see only a limited number of Data Names (in the Properties panel you can set how many of them you want to be displayed). To see the other values of the chart, just hold the click on the chart and scroll horizontally.


5.2 Filters 


In Play, you can:

  • see filters you have saved in Edit by switching on the button  ,
  • modify (but not remove) them,
  • set new filters to improve the interpretation of your analysis.

How to set new filters

To set as filter

  • a single value: double-click on the value you want to single out (for example a cell in a table, a column in a bar graph…).
  • more values: click on each of them and 
    • double-click on the last you have chosen, or 
    • confirm your selection by clicking on 
    • create a rectangular selection: move your pointer near the values until it becomes a cross. Then click and drag to create a rectangular selection of the values you want to be set as filters (keep holding CTRL to select non-contiguous values).

How to modify filters

At the bottom, you can find the buttons corresponding to the Data Names set up as filters. Each one lets you:

  • enable or disable the filter. 

    • Click on  . When the filter is enabled, this button is green. When the filter is disabled, it is red.

WARNING: if a filter is disabled, it is not removed

  • change the values of the filter
    Click on the filter button, and select the tab Values: it shows the list of values of the Data Name. If you are looking for a value, scroll down the list or use the research function. If you want to set a different value as filter, select it and confirm by clicking on  . If you change your mind and you want to delete your selection, click on  .
  • assign the filter to a Filter Group
    Click on the filter button and select the tab Filter Groups. You will see the list of the Filter Groups you have created. Decide if a filter is enabled and/or complementary in a certain Filter Group by putting a tick. 


WARNING: you can do that as long as you are working on a filter you have set in Play. If you try to change the filter group settings of a filter saved in Edit, then you are not allowed to change these options.


  • remove the filter
    Click on the filter button and select Remove filter to delete it from the entire analysis.

To remove all the filters, click on   on the lower right.
 Remember: if you add or modify filters when you are in Play, your changes won't be saved returning to Edit.

Watch the video

How to handle Filters

5.3 Filter Groups


In Play you can see the results of the options you have set in Edit about

  • the behaviour rules of filters on their related widgets, and
  • the memberships of filters to widgets.

So, when you are in Play you can't modify these options and you can’t add or remove Filter Groups. If you want to do it, go back to Edit.

You can visualise Filter Groups and adjust their settings.

On the lower left, there are the bar containing all the Filter Groups you have created in Edit. To move from a Filter Group to another, click on     beside the title of a Filter Group.
The name of the Filter Group you see in the bar corresponds to the current Filter Group.

In relation to this, the filter buttons in the bottom bar can be:

  • light blue: that filter belongs to the current Filter Group, or
  • grey: that filter belongs to another Filter Group.

Adjust filter group settings

Click on a filter button in the bottom bar and select the tab Filter Groups.
Each line of this card corresponds to a Filter Group you have created, and for every line it’s possible to tick 2 options:

  • Enabled: it means that the filter let you see (in the members of this Filter Group) exactly the values you have selected in the current Filter card.
  • Complementary: it means that the filter let you see all the values of the members of this Filter Group, except the values you have selected in the current Filter card.

If you use a field as a filter in two or more Filter Groups, the filters that will be created

  • will have as name - for example - field1 in the first Filter Group, field2 in the second Filter Group and field3 in the third Filter Group, etc.,
  • will apply depending on the Filter Group membership you have set for the widget the field is in.

By clicking on   on the lower right, you can see the Filter Group membership of each widget of the analysis.